Central Oregon OSU Extension Faculty Achieves National Recognition


REDMOND, Ore. (KTVZ) – Local teachers have produced and contributed to exceptional projects that have been recognized at the highest professional level. Out of 632 nominations from 38 states, Oregon State University faculty and extension team members won three first-place national awards and several honors from the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences. .

OSU Extension Principal Instructor Katie Ahern serving Crook and Deschutes Counties and her team were recently honored at the 87th Annual NEAFCS Session, “Deep Depths, Bigger Impact. »She led a team of 12 nutrition and wellness educators who received the first national place and the first place of the Western region NEAFCS Well-being at school award during the virtual conference held from November 2-5.

By receiving the award, Ahern, of Bend, and her statewide team were recognized for the BE Physically Active 2Day (BEPA 2.0) program which helps reduce obesity rates in young people by providing activities and portable equipment for brain breaks in the classroom, and before or after school activities.

The NEAFCS School Wellness Award recognizes outstanding school programs aimed at promoting and improving the physical, emotional and / or social well-being of students, staff or families of students in the school community. The use of partnerships or collaborations, proof of the impact and sustainability of the program are part of the evaluation criteria. Programs can include nutrition, fitness, garden based nutrition education, health, character education, self esteem, farm to school and more.

Glenda Hyde, Associate Professor of Practice at OSU Extension serving Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson and Wheeler counties led a team of faculty and specialists representing Family Community Health, Oregon Sea Grant and 4-H and Extension Communications experts who received the first national place and the first place in the West Region NEAFCS Disaster Education Award to the virtual conference.

Upon receiving the award, Hyde, of Sisters, and his team were recognized for securing a Smith-Lever Competitive Grant from the National Institute of Food and Agriculture to help Oregon residents realize and prepare for the Cascadia earthquake and resulting tsunami through an e-learning system. .

The project, Preparing for the Cascadia Subduction Zone event with free learning modules, interactive virtual reality sessions and supports in English and Spanish are available at https://beav.es/cascadiaprepare. The NEAFCS Disaster Education Award was established in 2019 to recognize outstanding extension and consumer science programs. Extension programs demonstrate effective performance and significant results.

In addition, Hyde was honored with the NEAFCS Continuing Excellence Award. The award recognizes NEAFCS members who have previously received the NEAFCS Distinguished Service Award and continue to actively participate in professional development programs, promoting the professional development of others, and leadership.

Ahern and Hyde are also members of the team which received the second national place and the first place of the NEAFCS West region. Marketing package price. Upon receiving the award, the team led by Lauren Kraemer, associate professor of practice serving Hood River and Wasco counties was recognized for launching a media campaign promoting high-speed handwashing, which targeted parents and caregivers of young children during the COVID-19 pandemic. Resources promoted include posters, a training video, and lesson tips. They can be viewed or downloaded for free at https://beav.es/HighSpeedHandWashing.

The NEAFCS Marketing Package Award recognizes NEAFCS members for their outstanding marketing efforts addressing the concerns and needs of children, families or communities. It is presented for the development of an exceptional marketing package promoting a course, program or relevant issues in family and consumer science.

Dr. Julie Garden-Robinson, Professor and Extension Specialist at North Dakota State University and Vice President of NEAFCS Awards, said, “The commitment of these awardees to meeting the needs of individuals, families and communities is exemplary.


Leave A Reply